Crossfit and Type 1 Diabetes

easy-hard

Ah..crossfit…one day you are riding on top of the world and the next you are laying flat on the ground barely able to move while ghost babies beat on your muscles with hammers.

I started crossfit 10 weeks ago and it has definately been a love/hate relationship. If you don’t know what crossfit is, I suggest you look it up as I could probably go on and on about the tortuous things we do…haha.. I kidd, I kidd…It is a pretty difficult and  painful thing at times, but it is also very addicting and rewarding.

I am currently in experimental phases on how to deal with being type 1 diabetic while participating in such an intense workout. And for those of you who have not done it before, when I say intense, I mean INTENSE… My first couple weeks doing it I was in a constant state of extreme muscle soreness, here are a few difficulties I had:

1. I was unable to pick up the phone at my job without grimicing in pain at the soreness of my triceps.

2. At one point, and this is 100% fact, I had a staring contest with a stapler while I tried to figure out if I would be able to lift it, let alone actually staple my papers… I think I might have had to ask someone to help me… buutt.. in my defense it was a heavy duty stapler. Weighed at least a pound! haha

3. A couple of nights I had trouble sleeping. Every way I positioned myself was painful. I ended up laying on my back with my hands at my side as if I was a vampire sleeping in a coffin.

4. I can’t tell you how many times the lady I work with (Yeah, I said it, T!) laughed at me when I couldn’t get up or sit  back down in my chair. I can still hear her laughter sometimes in my nightmares. So mean.

At this moment, some of you may be wondering “Why the heck does she do crossfit if it’s that bad?” To that I would say this:

1. It’s addicting. I don’t know why but somewhere along the line they hooked me. Maybe they are giving us drugs through the air vents. IDK. Just trust me when I say it is addicting.

2. The standard rewards for doing any type of exercising. Weight loss, more engery, more strength to lift staplers at work, etc.

3. Crossfit is hard and as they say “If it was easy, everyone would be doing it.” I’ve taken that concept to things in my life outside of crossfit. For example, I’ve gone to the diabetes doctor 2-4 times a year…since I was 6 and everytime they stick needles in my arm and take my blood. I hate it. I’ve always had to lay down while they take it because the one time they said I was old enough to start sitting up for the process (I think I was in Junior High) I passed out. I watched them look for my veins, stick the needle in me and then as I watched the tubes fill with blood…bam! Lights out. Since then I have told the nurses I am laying down so I don’t pass out and I usully get looked at like a major weirdo and a “You’re too old to be such a baby about this” …this is turning into a long story…. Anyhoo, I just went to the doctor last week and as I was sitting there I thought to myself  “If I can survive crossfit 4 times a week surely I can sit up while they take my blood.” And you know what? I could. It sounds stupid but I was quite the proud gordon. I did have my neck turned to the side as far as possible so I wouldn’t see any of the process to the point I had trouble straightening my head to face frontwards again.

This post didn’t really have much to do with my type 1ness, but I am a living (obviously I’m living and not a ghost writing this. Or am i? Bruce Willis was dead the whole time…think about it) back to the point… I am living proof that an average type 1 who is not super fit can do it. If I can do it, you can do it! Probably should talk to your doctors before starting though. It does wreak havoc on the blood sugars. I’m still experimenting with my pump process.

Also, if any of you are my friends outside of this blog please feel free to join the crossfit gym I go to…just make sure you said Emily referred you ;)….and, yeah, I’ve probably already tried to talk you into it, but just do it. 10 weeks isn’t that hard of a commitment and from there you can see if you want to officially join. I won’t tell you it is easy, but I will tell you it is worth it.

pain

3 thoughts on “Crossfit and Type 1 Diabetes

  1. I tip my hat to you, lady…. I don’t know how you do it but you go girlfriend, you go. Seems like you found a new hobby!!!

  2. How do you control your vs during workouts? When I was working out I let mine run high (around 200) and would have a snack before working out. At the time I was choosing weight loss over diabetes but I would like a better solution. And btw way to go, cross fit scares me!

Leave a Reply

