Freak-a-leak

Lately I have been going through random creative activities. I started with blogging on my poor diabetic soul. Then went to home furnishing creations (most of which are half finished in my garage) and most recently I have started on making iMovies with the MacBook I recently and impulsively bought…I’m not denying I have impulse issues.

What’s next you ask? I don’t know. I might take on tight rope walking, much like my ancestors did, The Flying Wards. Yes, it is true. I do have circus performer in my blood. I also have 1/32 American Indian in my blood. You can ask my grandma if you don’t believe me. Grandmas don’t lie. It would go against nature!

If you have been following me in my blogisphere journey you will know I also have diabetes in my blood. Type 1, that is.

Yesterday was a crazy diabetic day. I’m still baffled by it. I haven’t figured out how, but I think Binx might have been behind this somehow and he failed at his next “murder the person who feeds and cares for me”  shenanigans.

I woke up and showered, much like I normally do, so I don’t smell like a weirdo.  I removed my pump and put it on “suspend” mode. The “suspend” button puts everything on hold so not one drop of insulin escapes the tubing while I’m disconnected. Well, I must have forgotten to take off the suspend when I reconnected because last night before I went to bed I went to give myself a unit or two of insulin and saw that it was still in suspend from that morning. Hours before! I hadn’t eaten much yesterday, so I hadn’t thought to give myself any boluses.

I freak a leaked my way to my purse to get my blood sugar tester, sure it was going to be 1,000 and I was going to have to go to the hospital (even though I felt fine up until this point.) When I tested my sugar levels, it was 438 (still really really high), but for not having any insulin for 15 hours this didn’t seem right. I feel like I should have been dead in a gutter somewhere with homeless people poking sticks at me. I gave myself 10 units and went to bed and woke up with a 153, so not too shabby for a day of pretty much no insulin. However, in the future, this should never ever ever happen. It just isn’t safe.

That’s all there is to my story, probably makes no sense to you normals, but I think it was weird. And if I think it’s weird then it is most definitely weird!

Leave a Reply

