Diabetics Unite

Find A Friend. That is the topic of the first day of 3rd Annual Diabetes Blog Week. I am to “find a friend” and post a link to their blog site about diabetes.  I’ll be honest this one kind of made me nervous. I wasn’t sure how to go about the process. What is the protocol? Do I need to actively befriend someone before posting about their blog? Do I just post a link and not inform them I’m doing it? If I do this will I be murdered by ghost babies in my sleep? Those of you who know me know I like to think a project through before doing anything, but I guess I’ll just wing this one….if you can consider pondering it throughout the day “winging it.”

I was talking to a lady at work friend whom I work with (she does not want me to refer to her as “a lady I work with”)  today about this blog post, and she told me something along the lines of mentioning how I’m a crazy cat lady and how my only friends are cats and then people will feel sorry for me. HAHA! That’s one way to go about it..untrue..but I could. To those of you who don’t know me I do have friends, great ones, in fact, human ones,  but they like to tease me about  my crazy cat like tendencies. It’s no secret I am a fan of the non-human fur creatures. Although, two cats does not equal crazy. Maybe three, but that is a line I do not intend to cross…and eventually I will get a dog. A dog is a buffer, so I could have five cats, but as long as I have a buffer dog I could just be “crazy animal hoarder.”

Image

I had to post a pic…they are just so cute. This does NOT make me a crazy cat lady… does it?

I digress…back to the point of this post.

I will be recommending the blog Pancreas on Strike by Jessica. There were many diabetes blogs to read, and I didn’t read them all, but Jessica’s blog title caught my eye. She also used the word “schmancy” in one of her posts. I liked that.

There are many great blogs out there that I have been reading and it is nice to know I’m not alone out there. I’m starting to realize there is a big community in the land of diabetic blogging and I am just now stumbling along checking things out. It is an interesting world out there. From some of the blogs I read I think I might need to start tweeting… really

get in the social media world. Soak it up. Be a part of the 21 st century. Go to my FB and mention my tweets then people can go to my twitter page and connect to my blog then they can go to my blog and take a ride on my deceased pancreas. Connect to my MySpace page…wait. That’s not cool anymore.

After this post I am not connecting the rest of my posts this week to facebook, so if you are one of my number 1 followers (Luke C., that’s for you. You did lay claim to that title. It is your burden to bear. Good luck. I’m going to need you to enter the downtown parade with a banner of my blog now. ) Anyway, you will have to check in on a daily basis. Or you could officially “follow me” so you can get my updates. Never know what kind of crazy tomfoolery I’m going to dive into.

 

 

Leave a Reply

