Is that blood?

Day two prompt :

“Living with diabetes (or caring for someone who lives with it) sure does take a lot of work, and it’s easy to be hard on ourselves if we aren’t “perfect”.  But today it’s time to give ourselves some much deserved credit.  Tell us about just one diabetes thing you (or your loved one) does spectacularly!  Fasting blood sugar checks, oral meds sorted and ready, something always on hand to treat a low, or anything that you do for diabetes.  Nothing is too big or too small to celebrate doing well”

Hmm…One diabetes thing I do spectacularly? I’m going to have to go with deposit my blood in random places. Clothes, tables, face, cat, laptop, wall, car, etc. etc.  I check my blood sugar 4 – 6 times a day and my fingertips can be quite the blood gushers at times. I frequently wipe the blood off my fingertip, move on with my life and forget that sometimes my finger wants to keep bleeding. At those times I have to ask my fingers “Why are you being so rude today? Stop the madness.” Geez louise.

When I have a persistent bleeder whatever I come into contact with is going to get a little DNA treat from me… I guess some might find that gross…I don’t. It has become natural for me to look at my palm and see some dried blood hanging out. A few times I have squeezed my fingertip after a prick and blood literally squirted out like a fountain. Those are some interestingly disgusting yet fascinating times.

My blog response for Day 2 is probably not what was intended, but I can’t think of anything great I do in terms of the Diabetes. I woke up with a 333 blood sugar and now I just feel like whatever. This day sucks. Well, the day itself doesn’t suck, but the diabetes part of it really blows.

Leave a Reply

